St. John Bosco Roman Catholic Church
573 State Route 93
Sugarloaf, PA 18249
OUR WORSHIP SPACE: Inheritance and Legacy

Liturgical Calendar

The Liturgical Calendar is no ordinary calendar and its purpose is not to simply mark the passage of time, but to celebrate and understand more fully the entire revelation of Jesus Christ. From his incarnation and birth until the day of Pentecost, and the expectation of his return in glory, we enter into the paschal mystery – the passion, death, resurrection and ascension of Jesus.

The Liturgical Year is marked by special seasons – Advent, Christmas, Lent, the Triduum, Easter, and Ordinary Time. It begins on the first Sunday of Advent and ends on the feast of Christ the King. The calendar tells us what readings the Church has designated to be used for each day and it names the special feasts and commemorations celebrated during each season. It even indicates the color of the vestments to be worn by the priest during each celebration of the liturgy.

The Liturgical Calendar is often depicted as a circle where each spoke in this calendar wheel represents a week and each period of liturgical time is a different color.

Want to know more? Click here for a link to the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops' Prayer and Worship page where you will find a month-by-month Liturgical Calendar.